Academy News: Honoring Innovative Women

The Academy Celebrates Women’s History Month

View this email in your browser

Today and every day, the NAI applauds the wide-reaching impact of female inventors.

Within the NAI Fellows Program alone, women are responsible for developing groundbreaking technologies, leading industries, and shaping academic cultures. With the election of the 2017 class, the NAI Fellows Program boasts nearly 115 women who are named inventors on more than 1,700 issued U.S. patents and represent 80 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes.

Included among these women are 54 members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; 34 AAAS Fellows; 21 Fellows of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences; 11 IEEE Fellows; seven inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame; three recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation and the U.S. National Medal of Science, among many other awards and distinctions.

Join us as we celebrate the inventions and legacies of female inventors this month on Twitter.

Celebrate #WomensHistoryMonth with the NAI

Complete list of female NAI Fellows:

Nancy L. Allbritton, The Univ. of NC at Chapel Hill
Kristi S. Anseth, University of Colorado Boulder
Frances H. Arnold, California Institute of Technology
Nadine N. Aubry, Northeastern University
Paula J. Bates, University of Louisville
Angela M. Belcher, Massachusetts Institute of Tech.
Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Stanford University
Sangeeta N. Bhatia, Massachusetts Institute of Tech.
Helen M. Blau, Stanford University
Gerardine G. Botte, Ohio University
Susmita Bose, Washington State University
H. Kim Bottomly, Wellesley College
Barbara D. Boyan, Virginia Commonwealth University
Mindy M. Brashears, Texas Tech University
Karen J.L. Burg, University of Georgia
Carrie L. Byington, Texas A&M University
Anne K. Camper, Montana State University
Lisa A. Cannon-Albright, The University of Utah
Emily A. Carter, Princeton University
Carolyn L. Cason, The University of Texas at Arlington
Mary-Dell Chilton, Washington University in St. Louis
Joanne Chory, Salk Institute
Diana S. Chow, University of Houston
Mooi Choo Chuah, Lehigh Univerisity
Adrienne E. Clarke, La Trobe University
Rita R. Colwell, University of Maryland
Diane J. Cook, Washington State University
Katrina Cornish, The Ohio State University
Sandra J.F. Degen, University of Cincinnati
Mari Dezawa, Tohoku University
Jennifer A. Doudna, University of California, Berkeley
Jennifer H. Elisseeff, Johns Hopkins University
Denise L. Faustman, Massachusetts General Hospital
Ingrid Fritsch, University of Arkansas
Cynthia M. Furse, The University of Utah
Shubhra Gangopadhyay, University of Missouri
Elsa M. Garmire, Dartmouth College
Barbara A. Gilchrest, Massachusetts General Hospital
Linda C. Giudice, University of California, San Francisco
Sheila A. Grant, University of Missouri, Columbia
Naomi J. Halas, Rice University
Barbara C. Hansen, University of South Florida
Sherry L. Harbin, Purdue University
Florence P. Haseltine, National Institutes of Health
Charlotte A.E. Hauser, KAUST
Vikki Hazelwood, Stevens Institute of Technology
Amy E. Herr, University of California, Berkeley
Suzanne T. Ildstad, University of Louisville
Kristina M. Johnson, University of Colorado Boulder
Ranu Jung, Florida International University
Usha N. Kasid, Georgetown University
Linda P. B. Katehi, University of California, Davis
Michelle Khine, University of California, Irvine
Marcia J. Kieliszewski, Ohio University
Virginia M.-Y. Lee, University of Pennsylvania
Leslie A. Leinwand, University of Colorado Boulder
Jennifer A. Lewis, Harvard University

Frances S. Ligler, North Carolina State University
Barbara H. Liskov, Massachusetts Institute of Tech.
Tsu-Jae King Liu, University of California, Berkeley
Yilu Liu, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Jennifer K. Lodge, Washington University in St. Louis
Mandi J. Lopez, Louisiana State University
Surya K. Mallapragada, Iowa State University
Michele Marcolongo, Drexel University
Laura Marcu, University of California, Davis
Edith Mathiowitz, Brown University
Helen S. Mayberg, Emory University
Mary Helen McCay, Florida Institute of Technology
Edith G. McGeer, The University of British Columbia
Katrina L. Mealey, Washington State University
Deirdre R. Meldrum, Arizona State University
Shanta M. Modak, Columbia University
Marsha A. Moses, Harvard University
Lakshmi S. Nair, University of Connecticut
Laura E. Niklason, Yale University
Shouleh Nikzad, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Ellen Ochoa, NASA’s Johnson Space Center
Erin K. O’Shea, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Alyssa Panitch, University of California, Davis
Yvonne J. Paterson, University of Pennsylvania
H. Anne Pereira, Univ. of OK Health Sciences Center
Ann Progulske-Fox, University of Florida
Suzie H. Pun, University of Washington
Renee A. Reijo Pera, Montana State University
Nirmala Ramanujam, Duke University
Jennifer L. Rexford, Princeton University
Rebecca R. Richards-Kortum, Rice University
Yasuko Rikihisa, The Ohio State University
Bärbel M. Rohrer, Medical University of South Carolina
Barbara O. Rothbaum, Emory University
Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert, UT Austin
Linda J. Saif, The Ohio State University
Diane G. Schmidt, University of Cincinnati
Wan Y. Shih, Drexel University
Mary Shire, University of Limerick
Esther Sans Takeuchi, Stony Brook University
Fleur T. Tehrani, California State University, Fullerton
Kathryn E. Uhrich, University of California, Riverside
Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, Columbia University
Kristiina Vuori, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Inst.
Christine A. Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Tech.
Jennifer L. West, Duke University
Caroline C. Whitacre, The Ohio State University
Cheryl L. Willman, The University of New Mexico
Helena S. Wisniewski, University of Alaska Anchorage
Teresa K. Woodruff, Northwestern University
Amy E. Wright, Florida Atlantic University
Janet K. Yamamoto, University of Florida
Shu Yang, University of Pennsylvania
Jackie Y. Ying, Inst. of Bioengineering & Nanotechnology
Mona E. Zaghloul, The George Washington University
Lynn Zechiedrich, Baylor College of Medicine


Over 250 women have been inducted into local NAI Chapters. Collectively, they hold over 1,100 patents.





The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes, with over 4,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.