#NAI2019 Annual Meeting Speakers Announced

#NAI2019 Speakers Announced

View this email in your browser

Annual Meeting Speakers Announced

The Academy is pleased to announce the outstanding presenters who will join us in Connecting the Innovation Community at the 2019 Annual Meeting. Join us as we bring together innovative thought leaders from organizations worldwide who are making a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. The NAI Annual Meeting unites innovators and leaders from all disciplines and locations in a venue where knowledge is exchanged and collaboration thrives. Register today.

Session A: Industry, Academia, and Government Collaborations
This session is hosted by:

Elizabeth Loboa
University of Missouri Columbia

Mauro Ferrari
Houston Methodist Hospital

Kenneth Kaushansky
Stony Brook University

Session B: Connecting Disciplines to Explore Innovative Solutions
This session is hosted by: 

Calum John Drummond
RMIT University

Linda Griffith
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mark Naufel
Arizona State University

Herbert Gleiter
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Walter G. Copan
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Walter G. Copan, was confirmed by Congress as Under Secretary of Commerce for Standards and Technology and National Institute of Standards and Technology Director in October 2017. Copan is an internationally recognized leader known for influencing science and technology and promoting economic development. Case Western Reserve University named Copan their Distinguished Alumnus of the Year in 2008. Copan has authored numerous professional publications and presentations, and serves on the boards of several organizations. He is an active member of the Licensing Executives Society (LES) U.S.A. and Canada, and he recently served as regional vice president for LES U.S.A. He is also a leader in LES International. Copan served as a member of the National Advisory Council to the U.S. Federal Laboratory Consortium, and has contributed to United Nations and World Intellectual Property Organization programs as an expert on energy and technology transfer matters. Other professional affiliations include the American Chemical Society, the Association of University Technology Managers, and the Industrial Research Institute.

Session C: Insights for Future Innovation
This session is hosted by: 

Stephanie Couch
Lemelson-MIT Program

Aydogan Ozcan, FNAI
University of California, Los Angeles

Mari Dezawa, FNAI
Tohoku University Graduate School of Medicine

Steven J. Sasson, FNAI
University of South Florida

Steven J. Sasson, is a professor in the Institute for Advanced Discovery & Innovation at the University of South Florida. Sasson is the inventor of the electronic still camera and playback system, and led the development of the first prototype mega pixel electronic digital camera utilizing DCT compression that stored images to flash memory cards. He also developed one of the first photographic quality thermal printing systems, derivatives of which are still in use in self-service imaging kiosks around the world, and led the team which developed and commercialized printers based on AgX, laser thermal, and Inkjet marking technologies. Sasson is a recipient of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation; inductee of the National Inventors Hall of Fame and the Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame; and recipient of Honorary Doctor of Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and Honorary Doctor of Science from The  University of Rochester. He holds ten U.S. patents, all of which have been licensed.

2019 NAI Annual Meeting Sponsorship Opportunities

Supporting the NAI Annual Meeting is an unparalleled opportunity to connect personally with the academic industry’s innovation influences and decision makers. Contact [email protected] to learn more and reserve your sponsorship.

View the Preliminary Agenda
Register Now
Book Your Hotel

Copyright © 2019 NATIONAL ACADEMY OF INVENTORS, INC., All rights reserved.
Welcome to the National Academy of Inventors

Our mailing address is:
TAMPA, FL 33612-9445

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.